4. Misterion: Cultural heritage
Parish in Kamanje, Metlika and Semič, famous Three Parishes (Tri fare) in Rosalnice, The Church of Holly Trinity in Vinji Vrh, Kambič Gallery, Metlika Castle, Slovenian Fire Fighting Museum in Metlika, Curch of the Assumption of Virgen Mary, the story of Gottscheers, a German-speaking community that lived here for centuries,..
- Črmošnjice, The Church of the Assumption of Virgen Mary, it used to be the center of the Gottscheers community of the municipality of Semič. The Baroque church, village centre and Cemetery Chapel in Novi tabor are important units of the architectural cultural heritage of the former Gottscheers culture. Gottscheerish developed independently for more than 600 years from the settlement of the first German-speaking settlers from Eastern Tyrol and Western Carinthia around 1330. Today, this language only speaks a few people. According to the UNESCO, Gottscheerish is a "critically endangered language".
- Semič, Tabor house with defensive wall and Parish church of St. Stephen
The church has been mentioned for the first time in the year 1228. At the time of the Turkish invasions, the church was surrounded by walls. The baroque architecture of the church and its baroque furnishings belong to the highest quality monuments of the sacral art in Bela Krajina. The heavily fortified camp has offered shelter to the natives who have saved their own lives, and behind the high stone walls, they could also protect their own property (cereals, cattle, etc.). On the north side there were some residential houses on the walls. Despite the demolition, some walls are still preserved and give the parish complex a characteristic image. Today, this is the largest preserved camp complex in Bela Krajina
- The Church of Holly Trinity in Vinji Vrh is overlooking with vineyards planted hill above the village Vinji Vrh near Semič. It was built in 1647 after the model of an old pilgrimage church in Nova Štifta near Ribnica. The church has an octagonal shape and is covered by a shingled dome. The altar is one of the largest in Bela Krajina and is the work of F.A. Nirenberg of the year 1741; it is gilded and occupies all the triangular completed presbyterium. Under the picture of Holy Trinity, a gilt sculpture of the Holy Trinity crowning Mother Mary can be found. The church also has two richly decorated wooden side altars that were originally baroque style and rebuilt in 20th century by fine-art workshop Jereb from Metlika. The Nirenberg's baroque pulpit has been preserved as well.
- Kambič Gallery in Metlika: the collection of national significance consists of cultural-historical objects (paintings on glass, furniture, watches, luminaires, artistry products) and artistic works of various Slovenian artists: from the generation of realists and impressionists to the so-far living creators.
- Metlika Castle: first mentioned in 1338, played a key role in defending Carniola from the Turkish raids mainly in the 15th and 16th centuries. It houses the Bela krajina Museum. The lapidary under the arcades hosts many cultural events in summer. On the ground floor of Metlika castle, museum visitors can visit the Grajska Klet winery, where they can taste the excellent wines of Bela krajina.
- The old Ozalj castle: the pearl of the Croatian cultural Heritage, the former center of the Ban of Croatia (title of local rulers), a place of resistance to a Turkish attacker. It preserves a rich collection of Turkish and Christian weapons.
- Three Parishes (Tri fare) - the most important pilgrimage center and the largest cultural monument in Bela Krajina. The pilgrimage complex is distinguished by three Gothic churches, which are enclosed by a high churchyard wall. The churches stand side by side: the northern church is dedicated to Our Lady of Sorrows, the central church is dedicated to Ecce homo (Behold the Man) and the southern church is dedicated to Our Lady of Lourdes. The churches were built between the 11th. and 15th. Century. The Northern church boasts baroque altars, organ, and paintings. The Middle Church's altars are from the 18th century. The Southern church is characterized by a new-gothic altar from the second half of the 19th century.
- Church Holy Name of Mary was built in 1889 in neo-romanticism and neo-gothic style. For more than two centuries, in September on Mary's name day, the blessing is being held in Kamanje. It attracts pilgrims from Karlovac and neighboring Slovenia.
- Primary school Bright head is inviting to its benches in the classroom, equipped with old furniture, all those who would like to experience what the teaching was like five decades ago.
- The Pauline monastery in Svetice near Ozalj: a unique example of the sacral heritage in the style of the high Baroque with a mixture of the gothic arrangement of the church and the monastery.